Red Hot (from the album Red Hot, A Memphis Celebration of Sun Records)

Sun Records, and the man that made the label’s name, Sam Philips, are tributed and honored on the recent release, Red Hot, A Memphis Celebration of Sun Records. Luther Dickinson co-produced the album alongside Tamara Saviano, with all proceeds from the Americana Music Society release benefitting St. Jude’s Children Research Center. Luther and his guitar, along with brother and fellow North Mississippi Allstars member, Cody Dickinson (drums), are part of a seasoned house band on Red Hot that includes Amy Lavere on bass, John Paul Keith on guitar, and Rick Steff (Lucero, Cat Power, Dexys Midnight Runners) on keyboards. Red Hot was recorded at the two studios created and captained by Sam Philips, the original Sun Studio (1950), and the Sam Philips Recording Service (1959). The studios were home to artists whose work became the backbone of musical history in Blues and R&B (Howlin’ Wolf, Junior Parker, B.B. King), Country (Johnny Cash, Charlie Rich), and Rock’n’Roll (Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison).

The title track for Red Hot, A Memphis Celebration of Sun Records is headed by Chuck Mead backed by the Million Dollar Quartet with Valerie June handling “Sure to Fall”, originally recorded by Carl Perkins, Charlie Rich’s “Lonely Weekends” re-worked by Shawn Camp, Bobby Rush on “Tough Titty”, and Jimbo Mathus taking on Jerry Lee Lewis’ “High School Confidential”. Howlin’ Wolf’s “Moanin’ at Midnight” is revisited with Luther Dickinson on vocals and Alvin Youngblood Hart delivers Johnny Cash’s “Folsom Prison Blues”.

Listen and buy the music of Red Hot from AMAZON or iTunes

You must have the Adobe Flash Player installed to view this player.